Free Write Friday!

Life likes to wear you down from time to time
Pokes you in the open wounds it provided on its last attempt at breaking you
It will rub you raw and leave you to tend to the healing on your own

I have been there
I have witnessed the brutality
There were so many times I only sought release without care of consequences

To give in and give up were life preservers
Floating just within fingertips reach
It is nearly impossible to resist saving yourself when you are not suicidal
So how do you go against everything and hold out just. a little. longer?

They say patience is a virtue
They say you are never given more than you can bear
They say a lot of things that only mean what they mean
but do not do anything for you when you need them to.

How do you hold on?
When everything is slippery
Or burning, Or biting,
How do you hold on?

I guess you just do.
I guess you just do not give in
I guess you just do not give up
I guess you just keep holding on to the hope that
in just a little while it will all be better…

Hi there! I haven’t done a free write friday in a LONG while now, it feels good to be back! I attempted to write something for this last night but I was trying too hard and nothing would come so I let it go. Then this morning I saw a tweet from Kellie Elmore with the link and decided to give it another shot. It isn’t perfect but that’s what I love about free writing. You just let go and say whatever comes to mind. Thanks for reading! 

Check out more of Kellie’s prompts here
Read my Free Write Friday attempts here
Follow us both on twitter @kellie_elmore & @talichaj

10 thoughts on “Free Write Friday!

  1. This is such an authentic stream of consciousness. The part when you speak about those things that, “they say,” yes…how hollow those sayings become when one is deep in the hold of trials. Greatly expressed.

  2. It’s really a challenge sometimes…to hold on. But we do it. We get back up time and time again. Fighting for survival when there were times we wanted to just give up. That is the amazing strength of humanity that we too often overlook about ourselves. Perseverance in the storm, against the stinging rains that cut us and the winds that knock us down. We must keep on.

    Like Dolly Parton says, “If ya want the rainbow, ya gotta put up with a little rain.” 🙂

  3. Sometimes I think life is an exercise is hanging in. Those who let go of their “saviour” find themselves in deep, deep trouble, and flail in those troubled waters trying to right themselves. In the process they risk toppling the boats of others ~ not that they have any awareness of this. Hanging in is the only way to reach that distant, peaceful shore. … This is my response to your thought-provoking post. A lovely piece. Well done! … Be well, Dorothy 🙂

  4. This struck a chord with me too. I remember well just having had “enough”. Stuck in a place despite my efforts to move things forward. Time and other circumstances and the support of others made it happen.

  5. Holding on is the hardest part when the pain is new and debilitating, but what else it there to do? Especially when there are others who depend on you. I have been here too and understand all too well. This hits home for me. Very good. 🙂

Leave a comment!

