Just be

I used to think marriage,
Think children; a whole house filled
I used to think not quite picket fence
More like wrap around porch
And weeping willow by the lake

I used to think cookies baking
Lemonade sipping at sunset
And laughter, lots of laughter

I used to think you,
Not just you but you and me,
Think kisses, think safety, think love.
Now I think I thought too much
Now I live now, not later
Now I don’t think about you

Don’t think about us
Don’t think about the potential we had
Decided not to fret about a fairytale
Decided not to dwell on what isn’t
what won’t, what can not.

Chose to let go of frivolous thoughts
It hurt to hold on to loving you
I Chose to let go of what hurt so long to hold on to
Chose to just be.
Un-holding
Un-held
No thinking about not thinking.
I think I figured out how to just be.

 

20 thoughts on “Just be

    1. Thank you! I miss FWF! I’ve just been so busy I haven’t had a chance to get over there to check out the prompts. I especially miss seeing the way one prompt can be interpreted so many ways. I’ll try to stop by your blog and see what you’ve been up to soon 🙂

  1. Great audio poem; Talicha…
    Love these verses: “I used to think you/ Not just you but you and me” & “Chose to just be/ Un-holding/ Un-held”… Congratulations!
    Cheers, Aquileana 😉

    1. Thank you Dorothy! I’ve got to make my way over to your blog, is been a while since I did FWF, I miss reading your work! You should definitely ourt yours up on soundcloud, I’d love to hear it!

Leave a comment!

