Laws and love

The law is that an object at rest remains at rest unless acted upon by a force.
My heart was once still as water on a quiet night
Until you threw your smile like skipping stones across it
Now it never experiences moments of halcyon tranquility

I am ever stirring with thoughts of you propelling me in multiple directions
As if you are everywhere and I am incapable of stopping until you make me
For an object in motion will remain in motion unless an external force acts upon it
In other words, you move me and if you do not interrupt me I will go on forever, loving you

You, you moon of a man I will beg the stars to move over just to make room for me
But they will not budge, I know, for you are a brilliant bright in the blinding night and they all just want to be near you
I wonder do you give them all the same crescent smile you tossed my way?
Is that why they never stay put in the sky, why I often lose them from my sight?

You are a force, like wind, only I can wrap my arms around you and I can feel your fingers dancing along my spine and I can look into those Bermuda triangles youโ€™ve got for eyes and lose myself within them without worry. Some days you are stronger then you mean to be and you push me further from your reach but it never stops me from moving, loving.

For An object at rest will remain at rest unless acted upon by a force
And I was once just an object at rest until you acted upon me.

Hope you guys enjoyed my newest poem. It’s still rough as I just wrote and recorded it within an hour. Maybe one day I’ll get the chance to do a legit recording of this piece as I rather like it. If you enjoyed “Newton’s Law” let me know in the comments below. Also, feel free to tweet me about this, or about the weather or how great or horrible your day is, you know whatever you want to tweet me here: @talichaj thanks! Have a great day ๐Ÿ™‚

29 thoughts on “Laws and love

  1. oh LOVE, no matter if we’re deep in it or longing for it, LOVE is a bottomless well of poetic inspiration.
    i loved this line especially;
    ‘You, you moon of a man I will beg the stars to move over just to make room for me’

    just wonderful poetry Talicha, and i enjoyed your reading as well.

  2. Oh, Lord, science and nature… real nature, human nature. What a lovely combination of both! You really got me with the Bermuda Triangle eyes, how the stars won’t budge because they want to be closer to your love… Of course there will be push and pull, especially when one is moving toward and the other pulling back a bit, but it all works out as it should. Thank you so much, Amy

    1. Thank you Amy! I’m so glad you liked this! It really is hard sometimes dealing with the push and pull because it seems so rare for two people to be in the same space emotionally at the same time. It’s as if one person has arrived and the other is lagging behind. Anyways thank you so much ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. nice…i love the throwing of the smile like a stone early on it this…ha…def feel the longing in this as well…the bermuda triangle eyes….smiles….very nice creativity in this…

  4. ah, love… it’s true, it can break your heart, but what better force to move you?

    I especially loved these lines:
    “My heart was once still as water on a quiet night
    Until you threw your smile like skipping stones across it”

    that just made me smile.

  5. i esp. loved the bermuda triangle stanza…love can surely bring us to life and make us move in ways we wouldn’t without the loved one…the pushing her from him made me a bit sad…

Leave a comment!

