The alternative. FWF!

The prompt:

Credit: Tumblr

It’s high noon. Sun blazing. You awake in a field and birds are pecking your skin… GO!

The attempt:

The alternative

I awaken.
sun beams.
sweat beads
drips, pools
around me.

Eyes dry
mouth dry
lungs coated
with dirt and
nature.

Flesh is pulled
pecked, pinched
between beaks
of birds that
take turns circling.

I am left for dead
after struggle for life
he told me to get out
so I did.

In the middle of the night
when it’s dark,
grass is cool
the dirt is a welcome
home mat
in contrast to his
brash voice booming
in economy rental car.

In the middle of the day
when it is bright
grass scorches
dirt strangles
in comparison to his
brash voice booming
in economy rental car.
I think I’m bleeding
I must be but I don’t care.
I’m bleeding.
I’m alive.
He didn’t kill me.
I’m alive.

The birds are pecking
and the sun is blazing
and the dirt is choking
and I’m bleeding.
He almost killed me.
But he didn’t kill me.

So the thing about free writing is that it’s completely random. You never know what exactly is going to come out. For some reason all I could picture was a girl, laying on the ground in the middle of a field being poked and prodded and yet she was not afraid. She gave off the vibe that she would much rather be here than her alternative. I imagined that for her this was the life option of “life or death.” She escaped something horrific and as a result she did not find fear or even anger or annoyance at her present situation. She took it as “hey, I’m alive, maybe one day this will make a funny story when it’s all over.” Anyways, I don’t know if it will make sense to anyone and I probably shouldn’t have spent so much time analyzing and breaking this down lol. So…yeah, I’m gonna go now! Follow me on twitter to keep up with all the latest @talichaj and make sure you also follow the lovely Kellie at @Kellie_elmore

17 thoughts on “The alternative. FWF!

  1. I totally get it and I love the way that it is conveyed with this line: I think I’m bleeding. I must be but I don’t care. I’m bleeding. I’m alive. He didn’t kill me. I’m alive. My mind went to someone who was finally fed up with being abused and would survive outside of turmoil – even if it had to be outside! Nice work!

  2. It’s always a good thing to look on the bright side, no matter how tough life gets. You depict this well here. I love how we all come up with something different. Opens our eyes … Be well, Dorothy 🙂

Leave a comment!

