FWF! Words

image
The prompt Here

Words
What is it?
What ties me to you
holding me hostage
in the basement of your eyes?
I’m afraid of the darkness they wear.
I’m afraid of the way I bring them light,
but I can’t turn myself off around you.

You claim I can walk away
but we both know there is no place but inside you that I belong.
You bite your lip and furrow your brow
the way you always do when you think I’m talking crazy but I’m always talking crazy
I’m always pacing around my words with your eyes following each of them to make sure they mean what I say.
Do I mean what I say?
Do I mean that I want you to let me go?

Freedom has a million different reasons at 2 a.m. when you’re sleeping and I’m sitting at the edge of the bed waiting for you to notice that I never managed to drift off.
I’m waiting for you to wake up and kiss me.
Waiting for you to push all the syllables I’ve been stashing between my cheeks out of hiding with your tongue,
swallow them so you can keep me safe,
only don’t take them all,
I’ll need something to spit back at you once you’ve finally realized that I never meant what I said.
I never meant what I said.

yay for another amazing prompt from the lovely Kellie Elmore. Make sure you check her out!

31 thoughts on “FWF! Words

  1. I really love this poem! The first stanza to me is the most powerful. The lines- “What ties me to you
    holding me hostage
    in the basement of your eyes?”- are especially amazing to me. You are seriously talented. I watched the stand up poetry vid on your main page and thought it was so good. When I have more energy I am going to devour your blog so expect a massive influx of likes and comments.

      1. I can be kind but this is not kindness. I am just speaking my truth- you are talented. You are very talented. And you have skill. And passion. And something to say. There are people that can write that don’t have something to say and because of that their writing falls flat. You don’t have that problem. You have all of the essential ingredients that are needed to leave a mark in the poetry world. I enjoy and appreciate your writing and because of that I am a fan. Not out of kindness. I am way to discerning and opinionated when it comes to appreciating writing to give away false compliments. You are the real deal.

      2. Wow, thank you. I really appreciate that. I can’t even come up with anything else to say to that. I’m very pleased to hear that. You are so very much appreciated, thank you!

  2. “I’m waiting for you to wake up and kiss me.
    Waiting for you to push all the syllables I’ve been stashing between my cheeks out of hiding with your tongue,
    swallow them so you can keep me safe,
    only don’t take them all,
    I’ll need something to spit back at you once you’ve finally realized that I never meant what I said.
    I never meant what I said.”

    I love this!!! The picture in my mind is so vivid. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful piece of you!

  3. Talicha… I am sooooooo happy you were stalking my blog 🙂 I am always thrilled when you come back to write for me. I missed you. Keep that awesome ink of yours flowing. You write with such heart.

  4. Such a place is 2am, a place for some of the best words and lines that I never write, and by the time the Sun comes up, they’ve faded somewhere back in the preceding hours… To find the words when they arrive, such an immense feeling, love the way your lines run in the moment…

  5. Phew- that was an intense and powerful poem. I hope you find a way to speak the words you really want to say.

Leave a comment!

