Back on stage!

Hey guys!

So as you know I am a poet/spoken word artist, but over the last eight months I have not been performing for various reasons. Well no more! Last night I went out to open mic night and got on stage for the first time in so long and it felt like home! I was super nervous the whole time I was waiting for my name to be called. My stomach was trying to commit suicide, my mouth became a desert and my poor little heart was a super bouncy ball uncontrollably flying around the walls of my chest. Yep, nervous. Then I get up there in front of this room full of strangers and did THIS poem and the nervousness just…evaporated. I went from full out “OMG OMG OMG” to Zen Master just like that. It was amazing. I actually got lost in my poem while I was speaking it, I guess I went to the place I was when I wrote it. I didn’t black out or anything which I know some people tend to do when they get really deep into a poem, I was just less aware of my surroundings except for the moments I deliberately looked to the crowd for eye contact to make sure they were with me…and they were!

As a poet, when I’m on stage performing I take seriously facial expressions and the little noises people make. If I look out and everyone has a glazed over look on their faces then I know that they are not really feeling what I’m saying (which luckily has not ever really happened). But when I look out and see smiles on peoples faces or just an intent expression, like they are really listening or understanding what I’m saying, I know I’ve done good. If people laugh at something I intentionally made funny, I feel good. And if people make the mmmm noises, you know those sounds people make when they agree or strongly feel something, then I feel good. Because all those things mean I’ve managed to engage the audience and that I’m bringing them something they want/need to hear.

I’m so very excited to have done that last night. I was worried because it was my first time on stage in forever AND I was performing something that I’d never performed before. I had NO idea what to expect. The night went amazingly well and I am back in the game! So happy!

6 thoughts on “Back on stage!

  1. Congratulations on getting back in the game! I haven’t performed for a few years now as my life has taken a different path but I remember those feelings well, returning to performing after a break… With the line ‘my stomach was trying to commit suicide..’ you describe it so well. Took me right back and made me kind of miss it!

    1. Thanks! It’s never too late to get back up there on the stage! You should hit up an open mic one day! It really was amazing overall, even with the nervousness, it was perfect!

  2. Omg, Talicha this is great for you!! I would’ve been nervous too. I had to host a dance competition and a pageant a few years ago and I was still nervous, but it’s sooo exciting at the same time to be on stage. I love the poem you performed. One of favs from you, girl. Look at you making a come back on stage, yo go girl!

    1. Thanks Casie!!! I’m so glad you like this poem! It really is exciting to be on stage, I love it! That’s cool that you hosted a competition, I don’t know if I could do that haha! With poetry I know what I’m gonna say, hosting though, man there is so much winging it that I’d probably be a dud lol. Thank you so much for your support!!! It means a lot coming from one of my favorite bloggers 🙂

      1. You are most definitely welcome! I love that you can write poems and be expressive with it, that’s something not everyone can do. With hosting, I did have to wing a lot of my lines. A lot of improv. My co-host for the dance competition was very goofy and very outspoken so I’m glad me and him were able to get along so well on stage.

      2. Thanks some more! Yeah I envy people who are good at improv I suck at it lol. Or maybe I don’t suck I’ve just never done it before and I have this idea in my head that I’ll be super bad at it. I think it’s awesome that you were able to do that, that my dear takes talent. And I think it does really help if you have someone there with you that makes it easy for you to open up and really get into it so I’m glad you had a great co host!

Leave a comment!

